Minutes – Feb. 8, 2008

Online News Association Board of Directors Meeting

In Attendance:

  • Jon Dube
  • Denise Polverine
  • Ju-Don Roberts
  • Katharine Fong
  • Jody Brannon
  • Kurt Greenbaum
  • Thomas Brew
  • Kinsey Wilson
  • Ken Sands
  • Neil Budde
  • Christine Montgomery
  • Dick Meyer
  • Anthony Moor
  • Jim Brady
  • Lori Schwab (Executive Director)
  • Jon Hart participated in the discussion of bylaws.

The meeting was convened at 10 a.m. EST.

Minutes Approval: January minutes approved.

Treasurer’s Report: Neil discussed the final budget for 2007. He reports that revenues are up due to increases in sponsorships and memberships. The board discussed various ideas for investing cash to increase returns.

Conference: The board discussed various topics including ideas for keynote speakers, panels and conference fees.

Member Fees: The board approved a motion to raise annual member fees from $50 to $75 per year or $150 for a three-year membership. Student fees would be $25 a year or $75 for three years. All fees go into effect April 1.

Web Site: The board discussed posting committee information on the ONA web site and overall site management. Interested board members will have a follow-up meeting about this. No date was set for that meeting.

Bylaws: The board discussed amendments to the bylaws and approved the bylaws as amended. Under the bylaws as amended, any member of the Online News Association (whether a Professional Member, an Academic Member, or an Associate Member) may stand for election to the board and up to a total of three Academic and Associate Members may serve on the board simultaneously.

Awards: Anthony Moor updated the board on sponsorships.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:05 a.m. ET.