Minutes – July 9, 2010

Online News Association Board of Directors Meeting

In attendance:

  • Christine Montgomery
  • Cory Tolbert Haik
  • Meredith Artley
  • Anthony Moor
  • Katharine Fong
  • Liz Lufkin
  • Dick Meyer
  • Jonathan Dube
  • Jonathan Hart (Dow Lohnes)
  • Ken Sands

Not in attendance:

  • Jody Brannon
  • Jim Brady
  • Neil Budde
  • Jane McDonnell (Executive Director) Sherry Skalko (Editor)
  • Amy Webb
  • Katie King


  • A motion was made to approve the June minutes. They were approved.


  • Shield law update by Jon Hart.
  • Diversity committee update by Katharine Fong and a note that the committee is working toward candidate suggestions for the call for nominations for ONA board members.
  • Meredith Artley gave an update NewsFoo camp participation. Parachute training update on ONA@AAJA by Cory Haik.
  • OJA awards update by Anthony Moor with a reminder that entering the awards is ending next week and that he needs help promoting the awards through Board networks.

The call ended at 1:30 p.m. / ET.