Board of Directors

The ONA Board guides the association in its mission to inspire innovation and excellence among digital journalists

Under the bylaws, the board may be comprised of up to 15 voting members. Elections are held each fall surrounding the annual ONA Conference and Awards Banquet. Terms are for two years and begin on Jan. 1.

Current Officers

ONA Board President
General Manager
The Compass Experiment
ONA Board Treasurer
Head, News Product Experience
ONA Board Secretary
Global Head of Visuals
The Wall Street Journal

Other Members

Junior, Journalism
Florida A&M University
Director of Communities
The Discourse
Credit Cards Editor
The Points Guy
VP, Business Development
Senior Editor, Digital Transition Strategy
The New York Times
New Audiences Chief
Wall Street Journal
Founder & CEO
Senior Context Producer and Presenter
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
West Virginia University
News Partnership Manager
Chief Product Officer
Texas Tribune
Director of Audience
The New York Times Opinion
Managing Editor & Senior Correspondent

At-Large Members

President Emeritus
Rich Jaroslovsky, Vice President for Content, SmartNews, Inc.

All officers and board members elected or appointed per bylaws.


ONA committees and advisory boards are chaired and run by Board members and other community leaders

Learn More


To run for the board, members in good standing must be nominated and declare their candidacy

Learn More