The 2019 HBCU Fellows at the Online News Association Conference at the Sheraton New Orleans on September 13, 2019, in New Orleans, Louisiana. (Photo by Daniel Petty/Online News Association)

HBCU Digital Media Fellowship

at ONA21 — Sponsored by Knight Foundation

Students from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) receive hands-on experience during the 2021 Online News Association Conference (ONA21), June 22-25, as part of the HBCU Digital Media Fellowship. The students will create a digital project during the fellowship, as well as participate in mentorship focused on emerging technologies, tools and approaches to reporting and distributing news online.

The 2021 HBCU fellows


About the fellowship

Supported annually since 2014 by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, each fellow will receive a free conference registration to ONA21 and a one-year ONA membership. Fellows will work closely with lead mentor Michael Grant, Founder of Get Current Studio. They work with mentors to produce multimedia packages for the conference and be immersed in intensive digital journalism training.

The fellowship is centered on a highly-engaged conference experience for students, with a focus on the evolving nature of online journalism. Fellows also participate in networking and will receive training from industry leaders. Past trainings have ranged from learning about emerging media trends to hands-on training in current storytelling tools and techniques. Schedules are tailored to students’ particular career interests, and they have time to attend conference sessions and networking events, where they connect with professional digital journalism innovators.