2015 Board of Directors Slate

Below is the slate of nominees for the 2015 Board of Directors for the Online News Association.

Under the bylaws, the board may be comprised of up to 15 voting members. For the 2015-16 Board term, there were seven qualified seats open for election (one seat may be used to appoint a diversity director, if necessary). Terms were for two years and began Jan. 1, 2015.

Nine new candidates and seven incumbents, representing a wide and diverse range of digital media, are running. Candidates were introduced at a Lightning Round session (recorded video available soon) at the 2014 Online News Association Conference & Awards Banquet in Chicago to present their visions for ONA and answer questions from members.

Voting occurred between Friday, Sept. 26, and Oct. 14. All ONA members who were in good standing as of Sept. 24, 2014, were eligible to vote. 


New Candidates


Vote Today


Jody Brannon
Strategist, Consultant
Current Board Vice-President

Joshua Hatch
Senior Editor
The Chronicle of Higher Education
Current Board Treasurer

Robert Hernandez
Web Journalist /
USC Annenberg

Mandy Jenkins
Current Board Secretary

Greg Linch
Local Data Projects Editor
The Washington Post

Jim Roberts
Executive Editor /
Chief Content Officer

Bénet Wilson
eNewsletters /
social media editor

New Candidates

Bonnie Newman Davis
Associate Professor
N.C. A&T State University

Emily Dresslar
Director of Content Strategy
Calkins Media

Arlene Getz
Digital News

Luis Gomez
Business Editor
Investigative News Network

Jennifer Hicks
Deputy Editor, Digital News
The Wall Street Journal

Rhyne Piggott
Senior Executive Producer
Multimedia and Mobile
Al Jazeera America

Jessica Plautz
Travel editor

David Smydra
Manager of News Partnerships

Jose Zamora
VP, Strategic Communications
Univision News