2020 Board of Directors Election

A total of nine candidates — five new nominees and four incumbents, representing a wide and diverse range of digital media — ran for five open seats in the 2020–21 Online News Association Board of Directors election.

There are a total of 16 seats on the ONA Board, including one appointed, non-voting student representative. Eight members were in the middle of their terms and not up for re-election. The other eight directors were at the end of their two-year terms or appointments, including the student representative. For the 2020-21 Board term, two seats will be appointed by the Board following the election. The Board will also appoint the student representative from a pool of applications from ONA student members. Learn more about the selection of the student representative.

Terms are for two years and begin Jan. 1, 2020.

The 2020 ONA Board election opened on Sept. 10, 2019. At that time, ONA members as of Sept. 8 were eligible to cast ballots. Voting closed Sept. 26, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. PT. The nine candidates all had the opportunity to give lightning talks at the ONA19, the 2019 Online News Association Conference in New Orleans. Their talks are available on YouTube.


The new director joining the Board Jan. 1, 2020 is:

  • Anita Li, Director of Communities, The Discourse

The re-elected members are:

Voter turnout was 9.12% of ONA’s eligible membership; out of 3,060 eligible voters, 279 voted.

Incumbent Candidates

*David Smydra has recused himself from the Board’s Governance Committee and any appointment-related discussions during this election.

New Candidates