2014 Board of Directors Slate

Below is the slate of nominees for the 2014 Board of Directors for the Online News Association.

Under the bylaws, the board may be comprised of up to 15 voting members. For the 2014-15 Board term, seven seats were filled by incumbent board members who are completing the second year of their terms, and two were filled by appointment, leaving six seats open.

Voting opened Oct. 17, and closed Nov. 1. All ONA members in good standing as of Oct. 15, 2013, were eligible to vote.


New Candidates



Meredith Artley
Vice President /
Managing Editor
CNN Digital, CNN
Current Board Vice-President

Jim Brady
Digital First Media
Current Board President

Burt Herman
Vice President, Editorial Livefyre
Co-Founder, Storify /

New candidates

Evonne Benedict
Social Media Manager
KING 5/king5.com

Michael Bolden
Editorial Director
Knight Foundation

P. Kim Bui
Interim Mobile
Product Manager
Southern California
Public Radio

Eric Carvin
Social Media Editor
The Associated Press

David Cohn
Director of News

Victor Hernandez
Program Manager
Editorial Systems

Steve Herrmann
BBC News Online

Jennifer Preston
Staff Writer
The New York Times

Jan Schaffer
Executive Director

Dave Stanton
Smart Media LLC