2016 MJ Bear Fellows

Meet the 2016 MJ Bear Fellows! Each year, ONA awards Fellowships in the name of the late MJ Bear, a much-loved ONA founding member, to three stand-out journalists under age 30 — two in the United States or Canada and one international, in partnership with MSN International — whose innovative work in independent, community and corporate news represents the best of new media. Learn more about our current MJ Bear Fellows, or find out how to apply.

Audio Producer
Flash Forward
Research Associate
United Nations Development Programme

Honorable Mentions

The selection committee felt so strongly about the projects and potential of six other applicants that they were awarded honorable mention. They are:

  • Shauna Stewart, Summer Fellow, The Southern Girls Project
  • Jonah Newman, database reporter for The Chicago Reporter
  • Jareen Imam, social discovery producer for CNN
  • Alex Lewis, lead producer, WHYY Every ZIP Philadelphia
  • Beth Ashton, head of audience, Manchester (UK) Evening News
  • Felicia Ochelle, online editor, Ventures Africa