Slate announced for 2013 ONA Board of Directors election

By on August 20, 2012

We’re happy to announce the slate of nominees for the 2013 Board of Directors for the Online News Association.

Under the bylaws, the board may be comprised of up to 15 voting members. For 2013, eight seats will be filled by incumbent board members who are completing the second year of their terms. One seat will be filled by appointment, leaving seven seats open.

Twelve new candidates and three incumbents, representing a wide and diverse range of digital media, are running.

To be sure to give all candidates time to present their vision for ONA, elections will once again open during the first day of the 2012 Online News Association Conference & Awards Banquet, Friday, Sept. 21. Candidates also will be introduced at ONA12 at a Lightning Round session on Saturday, Sept. 22, focusing on digital issues.

During the campaign, candidates will be encouraged to use any and all social networking tools at their disposal to tell voters how they will help move ONA forward.

Here is the slate:

New candidates
Amy Eisman, Director, Media Entrepreneurship & Interactive Journalism, School of Communication, American University
Hayes Ferguson, Chief Operating Officer,
Kate Gardiner, Founder,
Kathy Gill, Lecturer, University of Washington
Mandy Jenkins, Digital Project Editor, Digital First Media
Richard Koci Hernandez, Assistant Professor New Media, UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism
Greg Linch, Special Projects and News App Producer, The Washington Post
Thomas Loebig, VP Digital Media Content and Operations, AccuWeather
Maribel Perez Wardsworth, Digital News Executive, Gannett
Jim Roberts, Assistant Managing Editor, The New York Times
Ingrid Sturgis, Professor, Howard University
Benet Wilson, Director of Media Relations/Social Media Editor, Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association

Jody Brannon, Editor, The Next America on
Joshua Hatch, Online Content Manager, Sunlight Foundation
Robert Hernandez, Professor/Web Journalist, USC Annenberg

To find out more about the candidates and their vision for ONA, head here.

Voting will open Sept. 21, 12:01 a.m. ET, and close Oct. Oct. 11, 5 p.m. ET. All ONA members in good standing as of Sept. 19, 2012, are eligible to vote. Renew or join here.

Elected board members will be announced Oct. 25.

Our deepest thanks to our Nomination Chair, Teresa Hanafin, Director of User Engagement, / The Boston Globe, a former ONA Board member.

Good luck to the nominees, and, as always, we thank our members for your participation in this important process — and for being a vital part of our growing digital community.

Jane McDonnell


Jennifer Mizgata

Jennifer Mizgata is Director of Programs at the Online News Association, where she leads the Women's Leadership Accelerator. At ONA, Jennifer focuses on identifying talented digital journalists and innovative journalism projects and providing them with support. Jennifer is a business and design strategist with over a decade of experience creating industry-changing training programs, investing in award-winning projects, and managing key relationships with journalism partners and tech stakeholders. She regularly coaches managers, senior leaders and entrepreneurs on challenges related to their careers and launching new ventures. Jennifer shares advice for navigating tough work challenges in Work Space, a monthly column for Fortune.