Monday, Feb. 6, 2017

Online Event: ONA Local New Group Leader Orientation, Feb. 2017

Want to start an ONA Local community in your town or join an existing leadership team? Join our New Leader Orientation to get the basics of connecting digital journalists and bringing educational and networking opportunities to your community.

We will talk about:

  • What is ONA Local?
  • What ONA can do to support your community
  • Leadership 101: What ONA Local leaders do
  • Best practices for event planning
  • Tips to make your life easier: processes to streamline organizing work
  • How to get connected with the rest of the network
  • Q&A – Let us help you brainstorm some getting started ideas!

We’ll meet on Zoom, and once you register, you’ll get an email 48 hours before the session begins with the Zoom meeting room address.

There will be two sessions of this orientation in an effort to accomodate different time zones and schedules. You only need to attend one of the sessions. We’ll cover the same content each time.

Session 1: Feb. 6, 12-1 p.m. EST (9-10 a.m. PST; 5-6 p.m. UTC)
Session 2: Feb. 6, 7-8 p.m. EST (4-5 p.m. PST; 10-11 p.m. UTC)

FAQs:

Who is this event for?

This event is designed for people who are interested in starting or co-leading an ONA Local group. ONA Local groups are supported by headquarters but led by volunteers in the community who are interested in creating spaces for digital journalism learning and networking in their hometowns. If you’re just interested in attending events and not in organizing a community, you can find and join a group near you—it’s free!

Where will the event be held?

We’ll use Zoom. The URL for the room will be sent out 48 hours before the event. If you haven’t used Zoom before, just enter the meeting address that we send to you into your browser bar and follow the instructions to join the meeting. For troubleshooting, check out the Zoom help site.


Register

Want to start an ONA Local group near you? Join this orientation to get started.

  When

Monday, Feb. 6, 2017

Type: