Boston Globe’s David Skok elected to ONA Board; Artley, Bui, Cohn, Carvin, Herrmann re-elected

By on October 20, 2015

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Members of the Online News Association (ONA), the world’s largest membership organization of digital journalists, elected one new member to its Board of Directors and reelected five incumbents to two-year terms.

The newest director, David Skok, Managing Editor and Vice President, Digital, The Boston Globe, will join the Board Jan. 1, 2016.

“David brings with him invaluable experience and perspective from the worlds of digital and print,” said Meredith Artley, current Board president and Editor-in-Chief, CNN Digital. “And we’re delighted to welcome back our re-elected colleagues to continue our important work.”

The five incumbent members reelected are: P. Kim Bui, West Coast Producer, First Look Media; Eric Carvin, Social Media Editor, The Associated Press; David Cohn, Senior Director, Advance Digital; Steve Herrmann, Executive Editor, Digital, BBC News, and Artley, who will continue her term as president until year end.

A 15th seat, appointed by the Board to help meet specific organizational goals, will be filled by current Board member and appointee David Smydra, Editorial Director, Google Play Newsstand, who will continue to represent the technology sector on the Board.

Serving out their current terms are Josh Hatch, Board Vice President, Mandy Jenkins, Board Secretary, Jody Brannon, Robert Hernandez, Greg Linch, Jim Roberts, Benet Wilson and Jose Zamora.

One current director will leave the board after Dec. 31: Jim Brady, who has served as a trusted advisor and Board member for 10 years — two as President and two as Vice President and Treasurer.

“Jim has given countless hours, expertise and direction to ONA,” said Artley. “This organization simply would not be where it is today without his leadership. And though he leaves the ONA Board, he’s not leaving ONA — he has promised to stay connected.”

Election results

At the close of voting, 399 voters — representing 15.56 percent of ONA’s eligible membership of 2,565 at the time of vote start — cast 1,935 votes.


Meredith Artley, 283 votes
P. Kim Bui, 269 votes
David Cohn, 218 votes
Steve Herrmann, 211 votes
Eric Carvin, 208 votes
David Skok, 191 votes

Other candidates

Matt Sheehan, Director, Innovation News Center University of Florida, 158 votes
David Smydra, Editorial Director Google Play Newsstand, 121 votes (incumbent)
Daniel Colarusso, Executive Editor, Reuters, 100 votes
Alan Soon, Founder and CEO, The Splice Newsroom, 96 votes
Ting Cai, Group Product Manager, Bing/Microsoft, 80 votes

We thank everyone who ran and voted, and encourage active participation in choosing ONA’s leadership in future elections.

Jeremiah Patterson

Jeremiah Patterson

Jeremiah was ONA's Digital Manager from 2012 to the fall of 2016 and was responsible for ONA's collection of websites, including, conference websites, the membership center, awards platforms and more. Before joining ONA, he served as a web producer and content developer at The Wildlife Society, maintaining the organization’s website, email marketing and other online services. An Ohio native and media enthusiast, Jeremiah grew up with a deep interest in video production and graphic design. He now focuses in user experience and human-centered design.