2014 Online Journalism Awards finalists announced

By on August 25, 2014

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Finalists for the 2014 Online Journalism Awards, representing a wide range of nonprofit, public, academic, major media, and emerging technology organizations from around the globe, were announced today by the Online News Association.

This year, the OJA categories were updated to keep up with the rapidly evolving media industry with new data journalism and enhanced investigative awards. Ten of the awards now come with a total of $52,500 in prize money, courtesy of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, the Gannett Foundation, and The University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications. These awards honor data journalism, visual digital storytelling, investigative journalism, public service, technical innovation, and general excellence.

“In case there was any doubt, this year’s finalists demonstrate that digital journalism isn’t just bells and whistles, which some think of when they think ‘digital,’ ” said Joshua Hatch, ONA Board member and Online Journalism Awards Committee Chair. “Judges saw works of original and innovative journalism that truly had no broadcast or print analogue. It’s clear that when journalists go all in on digital, they create completely new and engaging ways to tell stories and inform readers.”

A group of 60 industry-leading journalists and new media professionals teamed up to screen entrants and select semi-finalists. Twelve judges, representing a diverse cross-section of the industry, then conferred to determine finalists and winners from independent, community, nonprofit, major media, start-up, and international news sites.

The winners will be announced at the 2014 ONA Conference and Online Journalism Awards Banquet on Saturday, Sept. 27, in Chicago.

The finalists, many pushing the envelope of innovation and excellence in digital storytelling and distribution, are:

Knight Award for Public Service

General Excellence in Online Journalism, Small

General Excellence in Online Journalism, Medium

General Excellence in Online Journalism, Large

Gannett Foundation Award for Technical Innovation in the Service of Digital Journalism

Breaking News, Small

  • No finalists

Breaking News, Medium

Breaking News, Large

Planned News/Events, Small

Planned News/Events, Medium

Planned News/Events, Large

Explanatory Reporting, Small

Explanatory Reporting, Medium

Explanatory Reporting, Large

Topical Reporting, Small

Topical Reporting, Medium

Topical Reporting, Large

Online Commentary, Small

Online Commentary, Medium

Online Commentary, Large

Feature, Small

Feature, Medium

Feature, Large

Student Projects, Small

  • Fearless, UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism
  • Return to Elwha, UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism
  • What is Home?, University of Miami

Student Projects, Large

The Al Neuharth Innovation in Investigative Journalism Award, Small

  • No finalists

The Al Neuharth Innovation in Investigative Journalism Award, Medium

The Al Neuharth Innovation in Investigative Journalism Award, Large

Excellence and Innovation in Visual Digital Storytelling, Small

Excellence and Innovation in Visual Digital Storytelling, Medium

Excellence and Innovation in Visual Digital Storytelling, Large

University of Florida Award in Investigative Data Journalism, Small/Medium

University of Florida Award in Investigative Data Journalism, Large

The judges for the final round of this year’s awards were:

  • Kenan Davis, Interactive Journalist, Guardian US
  • Kat Downs, Director of Graphics, The Washington Post
  • Tyson Evans, Deputy Editor for Interactive News, The New York Times
  • Rich Jaroslovsky, Vice President for Content, SmartNews, Inc., and ONA Founding Member
  • Scott Klein, Assistant Managing Editor, ProPublica
  • Martin Kotynek, Deputy Editor-in-Chief of Zeit Online
  • Doug Mitchell, Consultant/Project Manager, NPR
  • Tasneem Raja, Interactive Editor, Mother Jones
  • Momi Peralta Ramos, Data Project Manager and Multimedia Development Manager, LA NACIÓN (Argentina)
  • Hari Sreenivasan, Correspondent/Anchor, PBS NewsHour
  • Lam Thuy Vo, Interactive Editor, Al Jazeera America
  • Ben Welsh, Database Producer, Los Angeles Times

Launched in 2000, the OJAs are the only comprehensive set of journalism prizes honoring excellence in digital journalism. Tickets to the OJA Banquet, where winners will be announced Sept. 27, are available here.

* Judges were recused from discussing categories in which their own organizations were entered.

About ONA
The Online News Association is the world’s largest association of online journalists. ONA’s mission is to inspire innovation and excellence among journalists to better serve the public. The membership includes news writers, producers, designers, editors, bloggers, technologists, photographers, academics, students and others who produce and distribute news for digital delivery systems. ONA also hosts the annual Online News Association annual conference and administers the Online Journalism Awards.

About the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation

The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation supports transformational ideas that promote quality journalism, advance media innovation, engage communities and foster the arts. The foundation believes that democracy thrives when people and communities are informed and engaged. For more, visit knightfoundation.org

About the Gannett Foundation

The Gannett Foundation is a corporate foundation sponsored by Gannett Co., Inc. whose mission is to invest in the future of the communities in which Gannett does business, and in the future of our industry. It supports projects that take a creative approach to fundamental issues such as education and neighborhood improvement, economic development, youth development, community problem-solving, assistance to disadvantaged people, environmental conservation and cultural enrichment.

About the University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications

The University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications is driving innovation and engagement across the disciplines of advertising, journalism, public relations and telecommunication. The strength of its programs, faculty, students and alumni — in research and in practice — has earned the college ongoing recognition as one of the best in the nation among its peers. The college offers bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees and certificates, both online and on campus. The college’s strength is drawn from both academic rigor and experiential learning. CJC students have the opportunity to gain practical experience in the Innovation News Center, which generates content across multiple platforms, and a strategic communication agency that will begin operation in Fall 2014. The college includes seven broadcast and digital media properties and the nation’s only program in public interest communications.

For more information, contact: The Online News Association at awards@journalists.org.

Jeremiah Patterson

Jeremiah Patterson

Jeremiah was ONA's Digital Manager from 2012 to the fall of 2016 and was responsible for ONA's collection of websites, including journalists.org, conference websites, the membership center, awards platforms and more. Before joining ONA, he served as a web producer and content developer at The Wildlife Society, maintaining the organization’s website, email marketing and other online services. An Ohio native and media enthusiast, Jeremiah grew up with a deep interest in video production and graphic design. He now focuses in user experience and human-centered design.