ONA14 Student Newsroom selects 20 promising digital journalists

By on June 30, 2014

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Online News Association, the world’s largest membership organization of digital journalists, is pleased to announce the members of the ONA14 Student Newsroom, chosen from over 100 applicants across the globe, who will provide intensive coverage of the Online News Association Conference & Awards Banquet, Sept. 25-27, in Chicago.

For the fifth year, Google generously provides a $30,000 scholarship to cover registration, travel and lodging expenses for the 20 students and 18 mentors attending ONA14.

Mentored by distinguished working digital journalists and journalism professors, the mix of graduate and undergraduate students will bring a rich, varied set of multimedia skills and fresh perspective to conference coverage, using a range of digital formats and styles, including interactive text and graphics, live blogging, slideshows, audio and video.

“Our 2014 Newsroom is a highly skilled and diverse group, from ethnicity to geography to digital focus,” said Jane McDonnell, ONA Executive Director. “We’re looking forward to seeing their coverage of ONA14 — and where they end up in the future.”

Under the direction of Committee Co-Chairs Michelle Johnson of Boston University and Katia Hetter of CNN.com, the student team will be getting right to work. In the weeks leading up to ONA14, they’ll give attendees a comprehensive preview, including details on session topics and interviews with conference presenters and speakers.


Khorri Atkinson, York College, at the City University of New York
Jules Bonnard, Sciences Po Grenoble
Maegan Clawges, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Alan Davis, University of Arizona
Stephanie Ebbs, University of Missouri – Columbia
Justin Galicz, University of Florida
Michael Geheren, University of South Dakota
Akash Ghai, Penn State University
Erica Hernandez, University of Florida
Reuben Jones, New York University
Beatrice Katcher, University of California, Berkeley
Hrisanthi Kroi, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Evie Liu,University of Southern California
Kyle Plantz, Boston University
Antoinette Siu, Syracuse University, S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications
Abigail Smith, Lehigh University
Taylor Walker, Boston University
Molly Ward, Marymount Manhattan College
Quinn Western, California State University, Chico
Katie Yaeger, University of Missouri – Columbia


Michelle Johnson, Associate Professor of the Practice, Multimedia Journalism, Boston University, ONA14 Student Newsroom Co-Chair
Katia Hetter,Writer/Producer, CNN.com, ONA14 Student Newsroom Co-Chair
David Barreda, Visuals Editor, ChinaFile
Jeremy Bowers, News Application Developer, NPR
Curt Chandler, Senior Lecturer, Penn State University
Kim Fox, Associate Professor of Practice, The American University in Cairo
Joanna Hernandez, Director, Career Services, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism
Connor Jennings, Developer, The Washington Post
Melody Kramer, Digital Strategist/Editor,NPR
Marshall Latimore, Designer-Content Desk, Alabama Media Group
Bonnie Layton, Lecturer, Indiana University
Charles Minshew, Multimedia Artist, Orlando Sentinel
Shauna Rempel, Social Media Editor, Toronto Star
Cindy E. Rodríguez, Senior Journalist-in-Residence, Emerson College
Sisi Wei, News Applications Developer, ProPublica
Ingrid Sturgis, Associate Professor, Howard University
Leezel Tanglao, Senior Multiplatform Editor, CNN Money
Jill Van Wyke, Assistant Professor, Drake University

Jeremiah Patterson

Jeremiah Patterson

Jeremiah was ONA's Digital Manager from 2012 to the fall of 2016 and was responsible for ONA's collection of websites, including journalists.org, conference websites, the membership center, awards platforms and more. Before joining ONA, he served as a web producer and content developer at The Wildlife Society, maintaining the organization’s website, email marketing and other online services. An Ohio native and media enthusiast, Jeremiah grew up with a deep interest in video production and graphic design. He now focuses in user experience and human-centered design.