Selection Committee

The MJ Bear Fellowship Selection Committee is a volunteer team of digital media leaders, ONA affiliates and a member of MJ Bear’s family who review and select the fellowship recipients each year.

The 2022 committee includes:

  • Laura Amico, Senior Editor, Harvard Business Review, 2011 MJ Bear Fellow, MJ Bear Fellowship Chair
  • Amy Eisman, Director, Journalism Division, School of Communication, American University
  • Irving Washington, Executive Director, Online News Association
  • Jake Carpenter, Network Photojournalist, CNN (MJ Bear’s nephew and family representative)
  • Jody Brannon, Digital News Strategist, Editorial Director, Educator
  • Sarah Hoye, Communications Director, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
  • Denise Hassanzade Ajiri, Data/Investigative Fellow and Adjunct Professor, Columbia University
  • Geraldine Moriba, John S. Knight Visiting Research Fellow, Stanford University
  • Anne Saul, News/Video Consultant, retired Gannett News Executive