Online Journalism Awards

The Online Journalism Awards (OJAs), launched in May 2000, are the only comprehensive set of journalism prizes honoring excellence in digital journalism around the world.

Our call for entries for the 2017 Online Journalism Awards will open in the afternoon of May 9. Join our newsletter to be the first to know when we’re accepting submissions.

Entry Fees

ONA members: $100/entry
Non-members: $175/entry
Student members: $15/entry
Student non-members: $50/entry

Join ONA today to save on your OJA entry fees.

The winners for the 2016 Online Journalism Awards were announced at the 2016 Online News Association Conference and Awards Banquet, Sept. 17, in Denver.

See the winners


The OJAs recognize major media, international and independent sites and individuals producing innovative work in multimedia storytelling. The OJA Committee and judges place special emphasis on entries that demonstrate mastery of the special characteristics and emerging technology of digital journalism.

Twelve of the awards now come with $53,500 in prize money, courtesy of the Knight Foundation, the Gannett Foundation, and the University of Florida. These awards honor data journalism, visual digital storytelling, investigative journalism, public service, technical innovation and general excellence.

The finalists and winners are selected through a two-step process. First, industry-leading journalists and new media professionals screen the awards to determine semi-finalists. In August, a panel of judges convene to select winners.

Honorees will be announced on the final night of ONA16, the Online News Association Conference and Awards Banquet, Sept. 15-17, at the Hyatt Regency Denver at Colorado Convention Center.