Top story
Posted: October 19, 2007 07:32 PM
Oakland Tribune Takes Home Two

The number was two for the Oakland Tribune's "Not Just a Number" package at the Online Journalism Awards Friday in Toronto.

Special recognition also went to for its multimedia package, OnBeing, and Michael Parks of USC's Annenberg School of Communication for his service to the Online News Association.

Participants packed the Dominion Ballroom of the Sheraton Hotel to see who would win in 20 categories. The 70 finalists were chosen by the judging panel from among more than 700 entries.

The winners were...

Beat reporting, small: Florida Today, Space Beat
Beat reporting, large:
Breaking News, small: The Roanoke Times
Breaking News, large: Associated Press
Commentary, small: Wild Bill, New
Commentary, medium: Walt Handelsman, Newsday
Commentary, large: William Saletan, Slate
Service journalism, large: Toronto Star
Service journalism, small: Oakland Tribune
Outstanding Use of Digital Media, small: Wisconsin State Journal, Hip Hop 101
Outstanding Use of Digital Media, large: Discovery Channel, Everest Beyond the Limit

Judges invented another entry on the spot in this category, emcee Ruth Gersh said. They awarded special recognition for innovation to the Washington Post for OnBeing.

Investigative journalism, large: ABC News, Brian Ross Investigates: "The Mark Foley Investigation"

Investigative Journalism, small: Center for Investigative Reporting, Danger On Your Plate

Specialty Journalism, large:

Specialty Journalism, small: Council on Foreign Relations

Student Journalism: Border Beat and Our Tahoe (two winners)

General Excellence, medium:

General Excellence, small: Ventura County Star

The judges "decided to honor a site that made a huge leap in the last year who made a commitment to put the readers at the center of the news, not just at the receiving end," Gersh said.

General Excellence, large: USA Today

Knight Foundation Award For Public Service: The Oakland Tribune, Not Just a Number

The awards ended just before 10 p.m. with an invitation to all to attend the 2008 awards in Washington.

--Raechal Leone and Savannah Aepli


Would you mind to link to the winner´s works?


October 25, 2007 07:28 PM by Gabriel (Permalink)

Post a comment


Back to 2007 conference page

8th Annual Conference and Awards Banquet, Oct. 17-19, Sheraton Centre, Toronto

Questions about membership, registration or sponsorship opportunities? E-mail Executive Director Lori Schwab.

Questions about conference lineup or volunteering? E-mail Conference Chair Ju-Don Roberts.

Oct. 19, 2007 7:30 a.m. to 8:30 a.m.: Breakfast Discussion Groups (Sponsored by AFP) 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.: Community/Convergence Workshop: The Cutting Edge of Online Data 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.: Content/Design Workshop: Finding Your Voice Online 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.: Business Workshop: Leading the 21st Century Newsroom 9:45 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.: General Session: Membership Meeting 10:45 a.m. - Education Members Meeting, Expanding ONA's educational offerings, Dominion Ballroom 11 a.m. to 12:15 p.m: Keynote: Michael Oreskes, International Herald Tribune 12:15 p.m. to 2 p.m.: Lunch on Your Own (Box lunch sponosred by 2 p.m. to 3 p.m.: Community/Convergence Workshop: Broadcaster Strategies for the Web 2 p.m. to 3 p.m.: Content/Design Workshop: Integrating Multimedia in Storytelling 2 p.m. to 3 p.m.: Business Workshop: Legal Panel 3:15 p.m. to 4:15 p.m.: Community/Convergence Workshop: Revamping Your Curriculum for Online Journalism 3:15 p.m. to 4:15 p.m.: Content/Design Workshop: Integrating User-Generated Content 3:15 p.m. to 4:15 p.m.: Business Workshop: Advertising 2.0 4:15 p.m. to 4:45 p.m.: Coffee Break (Sponsored by Pluck) 4:45 p.m. to 6 p.m.: Journalism Next: Impact of Aggregators, Blogging and Social Networking on the Industry 6 p.m. to 7 p.m.: Reception sponsored by 7 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.: Awards banquet

Register Now:
  • CitMedia Workshop
  • Conference Registration Is Closed
  • Flash Workshop Is Closed
  • Video Workshop Is Closed

    Quick Links:
  • Full Conference Schedule
  • Panel Descriptions
  • Hotel and Travel

    OJA Finalists:
    The 2007 Online Journalism Award winners will be announced at the awards dinner on Oct. 19. See the list of this year's finalists.

    The 2007 Online News Association Conference is the premier conference for those who work in, or have an interest in, online media and news.

    The Online Journalism Awards have become the top awards in online journalism. Each year a distinguished panel of judges selects the very best work in nine different categories to be honored at the awards. The OJA Banquet is the event where the awards are presented, and the winners are honored for their efforts.