Conference news
Posted: October 19, 2007 06:07 PM
Your Student Newsroom

(Photo by Curt Chandler)

The young enterprising students that you all have seen running around the conference this year are members of one of the best student newsrooms we've had in years. All total, we've had 22 students taking part in covering the conference and thanks to the generosity of a wide pool of mentors, have been able to gain invaluable experience of writing and editing on deadline.

So, here they are. Give them a job!

Student Newsroom Participants:

American University
Lagan Sebert

Howard University
Ashley Southall

Ohio University
Savannah Aepli

Emily Hanlon

Jen Monroe

University of Maryland
Raechal Leone

University of Massachusetts at Amherst
Eric Athas

Washington & Lee University
Nicole Mooradian

Ryerson University
Caroline Abdel-Shaheed

Emily Barker

Carmen Cheung

Elizabeth Haggarty

Andrew Halfnight

Lori Harito

Martha Jack

Kristina Jarvis

Deanna Lampert

Michael Lehan

Maria Nguyen

Lianna Shen

Will Tremain

University of British Columbia

Cynthia Yoo


Dan Berko

Curt Chandler

Steve Fox

Anjali Kapoor

Aaron Roberts (photographer)

Ryan Thornburg


Laura Cochran

Jennifer Crandall

Amy Eisman

Alfred Hermida

Barb Iverson

Thom Lieb

Robin Miller

Chet Rhodes

Carol Schwalbe

Joyce Smith

Vinita Srivastava

Ed Wasserman

Mary Ann Whiteside

Post a comment


Back to 2007 conference page

8th Annual Conference and Awards Banquet, Oct. 17-19, Sheraton Centre, Toronto

Questions about membership, registration or sponsorship opportunities? E-mail Executive Director Lori Schwab.

Questions about conference lineup or volunteering? E-mail Conference Chair Ju-Don Roberts.

Oct. 19, 2007 7:30 a.m. to 8:30 a.m.: Breakfast Discussion Groups (Sponsored by AFP) 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.: Community/Convergence Workshop: The Cutting Edge of Online Data 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.: Content/Design Workshop: Finding Your Voice Online 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.: Business Workshop: Leading the 21st Century Newsroom 9:45 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.: General Session: Membership Meeting 10:45 a.m. - Education Members Meeting, Expanding ONA's educational offerings, Dominion Ballroom 11 a.m. to 12:15 p.m: Keynote: Michael Oreskes, International Herald Tribune 12:15 p.m. to 2 p.m.: Lunch on Your Own (Box lunch sponosred by 2 p.m. to 3 p.m.: Community/Convergence Workshop: Broadcaster Strategies for the Web 2 p.m. to 3 p.m.: Content/Design Workshop: Integrating Multimedia in Storytelling 2 p.m. to 3 p.m.: Business Workshop: Legal Panel 3:15 p.m. to 4:15 p.m.: Community/Convergence Workshop: Revamping Your Curriculum for Online Journalism 3:15 p.m. to 4:15 p.m.: Content/Design Workshop: Integrating User-Generated Content 3:15 p.m. to 4:15 p.m.: Business Workshop: Advertising 2.0 4:15 p.m. to 4:45 p.m.: Coffee Break (Sponsored by Pluck) 4:45 p.m. to 6 p.m.: Journalism Next: Impact of Aggregators, Blogging and Social Networking on the Industry 6 p.m. to 7 p.m.: Reception sponsored by 7 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.: Awards banquet

Register Now:
  • CitMedia Workshop
  • Conference Registration Is Closed
  • Flash Workshop Is Closed
  • Video Workshop Is Closed

    Quick Links:
  • Full Conference Schedule
  • Panel Descriptions
  • Hotel and Travel

    OJA Finalists:
    The 2007 Online Journalism Award winners will be announced at the awards dinner on Oct. 19. See the list of this year's finalists.

    The 2007 Online News Association Conference is the premier conference for those who work in, or have an interest in, online media and news.

    The Online Journalism Awards have become the top awards in online journalism. Each year a distinguished panel of judges selects the very best work in nine different categories to be honored at the awards. The OJA Banquet is the event where the awards are presented, and the winners are honored for their efforts.