Conference news
Posted: October 19, 2007 06:07 PM
Your Student Newsroom

20071019cc_ONAstudents_th.jpg
(Photo by Curt Chandler)

The young enterprising students that you all have seen running around the conference this year are members of one of the best student newsrooms we've had in years. All total, we've had 22 students taking part in covering the conference and thanks to the generosity of a wide pool of mentors, have been able to gain invaluable experience of writing and editing on deadline.

So, here they are. Give them a job!

Student Newsroom Participants:

American University
Lagan Sebert

Howard University
Ashley Southall
assouthall@aol.com


Ohio University
Savannah Aepli
sa325106@ohio.edu


Emily Hanlon
eh326605@ohio.edu


Jen Monroe
jm247604@ohio.edu


University of Maryland
Raechal Leone
raechal.leone@gmail.com


University of Massachusetts at Amherst
Eric Athas
ericathas@gmail.com


Washington & Lee University
Nicole Mooradian
mooradiann@wlu.edu

Ryerson University
Caroline Abdel-Shaheed
cabdelsh@ryerson.ca

Emily Barker
ebarker@ryerson.ca
http://www.journalism.ryerson.ca/Global%20City/masthead/emily/index.html

Carmen Cheung
c24cheun@ryerson.ca
http://www.ryersonline.ca/authors/651/Carmen-Cheung

Elizabeth Haggarty
ehaggart@ryerson.ca
http://www.journalism.ryerson.ca/Global%20City/masthead/liz/index.html

Andrew Halfnight
andrew.halfnight@ryerson.ca
http://www.journalism.ryerson.ca/Global%20City/masthead/andrew/publish_to_web_of_drew/index.html

Lori Harito
lharito@ryerson.ca
http://www.journalism.ryerson.ca/Global%20City/masthead/lori/index.html

Martha Jack
mjack@ryerson.ca
http://www.journalism.ryerson.ca/Global%20City/masthead/martha/index.html

Kristina Jarvis
k2jarvis@ryerson.ca
http://www.journalism.ryerson.ca/Global%20City/masthead/kristina/index.html

Deanna Lampert
dlampert@ryerson.ca
http://www.ryersonline.ca/authors/652/Deanna-Lampert

Michael Lehan
michael.lehan@ryerson.ca

Maria Nguyen
tram.nguyen@ryerson.ca
http://www.journalism.ryerson.ca/Global%20City/masthead/maria/index.html

Lianna Shen
lianna.shen@ryerson.ca
http://www.journalism.ryerson.ca/Global%20City/masthead/lianna/index.html

Will Tremain
wtremain@ryerson.ca
http://www.ryersonline.ca/authors/655/Will-Tremain


University of British Columbia

Cynthia Yoo
yoo.cynthia@gmail.com

NEWSROOM EDITORS


Dan Berko
dan.berko@wpni.com

Curt Chandler
cwc11@psu.edu

Steve Fox
stevejfox@gmail.com

Anjali Kapoor
anjalik@yahoo-inc.com


Aaron Roberts (photographer)
aaronroberts.com
aaron@aaronroberts.com


Ryan Thornburg
ryan.thornburg@unc.edu


NEWSROOM MENTORS


Laura Cochran
laura.cochran@wpni.com

Jennifer Crandall
jennifer.crandall@wpni.com

Amy Eisman
aeisman@american.edu

Alfred Hermida
alfred.hermida@ubc.ca

Barb Iverson
biverson@colum.edu

Thom Lieb
tlieb@towson.edu

Robin Miller
robin@roblimo.com

Chet Rhodes
chet.rhodes@wpni.com

Carol Schwalbe
cschwalbe@asu.edu

Joyce Smith
j1smith@ryerson.ca

Vinita Srivastava
vsrivast@ryerson.ca

Ed Wasserman
WassermanE@wlu.edu

Mary Ann Whiteside
whiteside1@gmail.com



COMMENTS
Post a comment


(required)












Back to 2007 conference page

8th Annual Conference and Awards Banquet, Oct. 17-19, Sheraton Centre, Toronto

Questions about membership, registration or sponsorship opportunities? E-mail Executive Director Lori Schwab.

Questions about conference lineup or volunteering? E-mail Conference Chair Ju-Don Roberts.

Oct. 19, 2007 7:30 a.m. to 8:30 a.m.: Breakfast Discussion Groups (Sponsored by AFP) 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.: Community/Convergence Workshop: The Cutting Edge of Online Data 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.: Content/Design Workshop: Finding Your Voice Online 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.: Business Workshop: Leading the 21st Century Newsroom 9:45 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.: General Session: Membership Meeting 10:45 a.m. - Education Members Meeting, Expanding ONA's educational offerings, Dominion Ballroom 11 a.m. to 12:15 p.m: Keynote: Michael Oreskes, International Herald Tribune 12:15 p.m. to 2 p.m.: Lunch on Your Own (Box lunch sponosred by CBSNews.com) 2 p.m. to 3 p.m.: Community/Convergence Workshop: Broadcaster Strategies for the Web 2 p.m. to 3 p.m.: Content/Design Workshop: Integrating Multimedia in Storytelling 2 p.m. to 3 p.m.: Business Workshop: Legal Panel 3:15 p.m. to 4:15 p.m.: Community/Convergence Workshop: Revamping Your Curriculum for Online Journalism 3:15 p.m. to 4:15 p.m.: Content/Design Workshop: Integrating User-Generated Content 3:15 p.m. to 4:15 p.m.: Business Workshop: Advertising 2.0 4:15 p.m. to 4:45 p.m.: Coffee Break (Sponsored by Pluck) 4:45 p.m. to 6 p.m.: Journalism Next: Impact of Aggregators, Blogging and Social Networking on the Industry 6 p.m. to 7 p.m.: Reception sponsored by CBC.ca 7 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.: Awards banquet


Register Now:
  • CitMedia Workshop
  • Conference Registration Is Closed
  • Flash Workshop Is Closed
  • Video Workshop Is Closed


    Quick Links:
  • Full Conference Schedule
  • Panel Descriptions
  • Hotel and Travel


    OJA Finalists:
    The 2007 Online Journalism Award winners will be announced at the awards dinner on Oct. 19. See the list of this year's finalists.


    The 2007 Online News Association Conference is the premier conference for those who work in, or have an interest in, online media and news.

    The Online Journalism Awards have become the top awards in online journalism. Each year a distinguished panel of judges selects the very best work in nine different categories to be honored at the awards. The OJA Banquet is the event where the awards are presented, and the winners are honored for their efforts.