Two committees will review the Challenge Fund applications and make recommendations to the funder selection committee.

Academic Adviser Committee

The academic adviser committee reviews and recommends projects to the final funder selection committee. These advisers will also mentor the winning teams during the academic year.

Retha Hill
Executive Director
Digital Media Entrepreneurship and Innovation
Walter Cronkite School of Journalism
Arizona State University
Jeff Jarvis
Tow-Knight Center for Entrepreneurial Journalism
CUNY Graduate School of Journalism
Miranda Mulligan
Northwestern University Knight Lab
Natalie (Talia) Stroud
Assistant Professor
University of Texas at Austin

Innovation Committee

The Innovation Committee is composed of ONA members who review and recommend the most innovative projects to the final funder selection committee.

Mike Annany
Assistant Professor
University of Southern California
Sybril BennettSybril Bennett
Belmont University
Jody Brannon
Next America on National Journal
Atlantic Media
Richard Koci Hernandez
Assistant Professor, New Media
University of California Berkeley
Andrew Lih
Associate Professor
American University
Jane McDonnell
Executive Director
Online News Association
Doug Mitchell
NewU Entrepreneurship Program
Consultant, NPR
John OsbornJohn Osborn
Digital Communications Manager
Lam Thuy Vo
Interactive Editor
Al Jazeera America
Irving WashingtonIrving Washington
Director of Operations
Online News Association
Committee members must disclose any conflict of interest during the selection process and recuse themselves from participating in that specific discussion or recommendation.